Bikram Day 1

Well, I did it. As I posted on FB – I didn’t leave the room, and I didn’t throw up. It. was. awesome. And crazy. Buckets…I mean buckets of sweat! It was such a great environment though. When the instructor came in, she talked with me, told me (as I was the only newbie that day) that my job for the class was to stay in the room – that’s it. I did my best. I did have to rest a few times, and I won’t lie – I felt like I might throw up a couple of times. But I made it through the class and felt AMAZING afterwards. At the end of the class, the instructor told me I’d done a great job and the whole class clapped for me! I know this is just their normal way of doing things, but it is a great way of doing things :) On the way to the change room people again said “good job, no, seriously, that was great.” It was such a positive environment. And, there were mirrors everywhere – I know I was not that fantastic…but I tried every pose and completed most of them in some form.

One really crazy and completely unexpected side effect was that when I got to my car to leave, I suddenly just burst into tears. Not sad tears or pained tears, just “release” tears. Kind of like when you cry because you are happy to see someone again. So I just went with it…and cried my way home…and after a shower and lots more water I feel really good.

If you try Bikram, follow all the advice they give! I did and I can see that I would have regretted it had I not. I found a great list of tips over at Elephant. 

I’ll keep you posted on how I feel tomorrow, and how the ongoing process goes!

One thought on “Bikram Day 1

Leave a Reply

